Fairyhouse Races – The Home Of The Irish Grand National

Fairyhouse races have been taking place since 1848. The racecourse is now regarded as one of the premier horse racing venues in Ireland. It is located in the parish of Ratoath, which is in County Meath. Most notably, the Irish Grand National takes place here, which attracts plenty of attention every year. Nevertheless, there are plenty of other big jump races that are staged at this track, including the Royal Bond Novice Hurdle, Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final, and the Powers Gold Cup. Interestingly, when there is no racing on a Sunday, the racecourse opens a market that sells local produce.

The course at Fairyhouse is square-shaped, right-handed, wide, and a mile and six furlongs in length. It is galloping in nature, and it has a three-furlong straight that is slightly uphill. Overall, it is a fair track for flat racing, especially as it is quite level, but it does have the tendency to suit horses that race prominently. There isn’t any draw bias in the longer races, but for short trips, you don’t want a low draw if you have a hold-up horse. There have been a lot of hard-luck stories regarding horses that have had to race right to the rail in the straight.

Guide To Flat And Jump Racing At Fairyhouse Racecourse

What about jump racing? There are 11 fences for horses to navigate per circuit, and the run is approximately one furlong. Unlike the short flat races, there are not many hard luck stories. While the track itself is easy, it is worth noting that the fences are some of the stiffest in the country, and a chancy novice can often find themselves caught out. One cannot mention Fairyhouse races on the jump track without taking a look at the Ladbrokes Irish Grand National, which is the most valuable Irish chase.

This race is held during the Easter Festival meeting, which also stages other notable Fairyhouse races, including the Dunboyne Castle Novice Hurdle, Irish Strawberry Hurdle, Festival Novice Hurdle, and the Powers Gold Cup. The National, however, is the most significant. This is open to horses aged five years old and above and is run over three miles and five furlongs. The most successful horse in this race is Brown Lad, winning three times in 1975, 1976, and 1978. Recent winners include Thunder and Roses, Shutthefrontdoor, Liberty Counsel, and Lion Na Bearnai.