Limerick Races – Racing Since 1790

Limerick races have been taking place since 1790; however, the location has changed seven times since then. The course we all know and love today opened fairly recently, in October 2001, when a record crowd of 18,000 attended. It was the first purpose built racecourse to be opened in Ireland for 50 years. Prior to this, racing occurred at Greenpark, which was near to Limerick. Other predecessors were Ballinacurra, Lemonfield, Newcastle, Rathkeale, and Bruff. There are many opportunities to enjoy racing here throughout the year, and we will reveal more about them below.

The track at Limerick is oval-shaped, right-handed, and approximately a mile and three furlongs in length. The straight can be a bit tricky, as there is a steep climb that is followed by a downhill run, which highlights why plenty of pace is critical in flat races here. It is also beneficial to have a low draw. In regards to jump racing, there are seven fences to navigate per circuit, and five of them come at you quickly in the back straight. The second-last, in particular, tends to cause a lot of problems.

Notable Jump Races At Limerick Racecourse

It is fair to say that jump races at Limerick receive a bit more attention than the flat Limerick races. One of the most notable races is the Greenmount Park Novice Chase, which takes place on Boxing Day and is part of a four-day Christmas meeting. This race is a Grade 2 race that is open to horses aged four years and above, and is run over two miles, three furlongs, and 120 yards. Trainer Willie Mullins has a good record in this race, and recent winners include Outlander, The Paparazzi Kid, Mr Cracker, and Financial Reward.

Other Limerick races worth mentioning are the Dorans Pride Novice Hurdle, which takes place on December 28th, and the Dawn Run Mares Novice Chase Hurdle that is run in March. The former is a three-mile Grade 3 hurdle for four-year-olds and above. Cheltenham Champion Hurdle winner Faugheen won the race in 2013. The Dawn Run Mares Novice Chase Hurdle is run over two miles and six furlongs, and it is open to mares aged four-years-old and above. Recent winners include Vroum Vroum Mag, Charlie’s Vic, Candy Girl, Baily Mist, Aura About You, and Caoimhe’s Delight.