Navan Races – Known For Great National Hunt Racing

Navan races take place at Proudstown, which is close to Navan, in County Meath. It is conveniently located around 48 kilometres from Dublin. The first race took place here in 1920, and there are many opportunities to enjoy racing at Navan today, as the horse racing venue stages both Flat and National Hunt racing. Despite this, it is better known for jump racing. It hosts one Grade 1 race, which is the Navan Novice Hurdle. To find out more about the track here and the races that take place, read on.

The track at Navan Racecourse is oval-shaped, left-handed, and just over one a half miles in circumference. The three and a half furlong finish is a stiff one, and it often exposes horses with questionable stamina. For flat races, there is also a straight course, which is roughly six furlongs. When it comes to jump racing at Navan, there are nine fences, with three in the home straight. The fourth last fence can be tricky because it is immediately followed by a turn. It provides a fair and stiff test, and during the winter the ground can get extremely heavy.

Races To Look Out For At Navan Racecourse

As mentioned, the National Hunt programme at Navan is impressive, and there are lots of great Grade 2 contests throughout the year. The Navan Novice Hurdle is the only Grade 1 race at the track at present. This is open to four-year-olds and above, and it is run over two miles and four furlongs. Ruby Walsh has won the race four times, with trainer Willie Mullins winning five times. Notable recent winners include No More Heroes, Boston Bob, and Oscars Well. The Boyne Hurdle is a race worth noting. It takes place in February and is run over two miles and five furlongs. Recent winners include On His Own, War Of Attrition, and Catch Me.

While Navan races on the jump track receive the most attention, there are two notable Group 3 flat races that take place; the Ballysax Stakes in April and the Vintage Crop Stakes in May. The former is a one-mile two furlong-race for three-year-olds only. Aidan O’Brien and Jim Bolger have both trained seven winners in this race. The Vintage Crop Stakes is open to thoroughbreds aged four years old and above, and it is run over one mile and six furlongs. Leading Light won in 2014, and Fame and Glory won the race twice in 2011 and 2012.