Roscommon Races – Official Racing Since 1885

Roscommon races have been officially contested since 1885, however, there are records dating back to 1837 for unofficial races. Today, seven meetings take place per year, from May to September. In recent years, there has been significant investment into the racecourse, resulting in the upgrade of the entrance turnstiles, the bars, and the stables. The course has also seen a number of famous horses over the years. Enzeli won a race at Roscommon before winning the Ascot Hold Cup in 1999. Imperial Call also ran at the track before winning the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Roscommon Racecourse hosts both flat and jump racing. The track here is oval-shape, right-handed, and almost one and a quarter miles in circumference. The track is a fair one although the turns are quite sharp. The draw does not have a massive impact and the course often suits those that run prominently. In regards to jump races, there are five fences to navigate per circuit, and they are generally easy. Most jockeys regard this is as one of the nicest and fairest tracks in the country. There is no positional bias here and few hard luck stories.

What Is The Track Like At Roscommon Racecourse?

Let’s take a look at some of the most high profile Roscommon races. On the flat course, the standout race is the Lenebane Stakes. This is run over 12 furlongs and it is open to thoroughbreds that are aged three years old and above. It is scheduled to take place in July on Ladies Day. Trainer John Oxx was won this race four times, and no horses are have won more than once since it was first run in 2006. Recent winners include Panama Hat in 2015, Einsteins Folly in 2014, Bunairgead in 2013, Aklan in 2012, and Quest For Peace in 2011.

When it comes to Roscommon races on the jump track, the one that stands out is the Kilbegnet Novice Chase. This race has been on-going since 1988 and in 2007 it was awarded Listed status. This is a Grade 3 novice chase that is run over two miles and is open to horses that are aged four years old and above. There are no standout trainers or horses in this race, although jockeys Barry Geraghty and Paul Carberry have won several times. Recent winners include The Game Changer in 2015, Ted Veale in 2014, Darwins Fox in 2013, and Baily Green in 2012.