York Races – Attracting Hundreds Of Thousands Of Racegoers Every Year

York races attract approximately 350,000 racegoers every year, and the horse racing venue is the second biggest in the UK in terms of prize money offered per meeting, and third biggest in terms of total prize money offered. It also stages three of the 31 Group 1 flat races that take place in the country throughout the year. For those who want to visit York Racecourse, you will have the option of the Course or the County Stand. The latter of which is the more expensive of the two. On non-race days, meetings, exhibitions, conferences, and training classes take place here.

So, let’s take a look at what you can expect from York races. The course is round, left-handed, and roughly two miles in length. It has a sweeping turn into the long straight, which measures in at five furlongs. There is a separate straight course for both five and six-furlong races. Both courses are very wide and perfectly flat, and there is no draw bias here, which makes York Racecourse one of the fairest thoroughbred tests in the UK. It is worth pointing out that this is a galloping track, and it is often the case that the last one to challenge has the advantage.

Group 1 Flat Races That Take Place At York Racecourse

There are many great York races that take place throughout the year, but let’s take a look at the three Group 1 races that are held at this track. The International Stakes is the most valuable race at York. This is run on the opening day of the Ebor Festival, which takes place every August. It is open to horses that are aged three years old and above, and it is run over one mile, two furlongs, and 88 yards. Frankie Dettori is one of the most successful jockeys in this race, having won it five times, in 1996, 1997, 2001, 2004, and 2007. Successful owners include Susan Magnier and Michael Tabor while the most successful trainers are Aidan O’Brien and Sir Michael Stoute.

The Yorkshire Oaks is another one of the famous Group 1 York races. This also takes place in August and is open to horses that are aged three years or older. It is run over one mile and four furlongs. Sir Michael Stoute also has a great record in this race. Notable winners in recent times include Islington, who won the race consecutively in 2002 and 2003, as well as Pleascach, Tapestry, The Fugue, and Dar Re Mi. Finally, we have the Nunthorpe Stakes, which is a five-furlong race for horses aged two years old and above. Recent winners include Mecca’s Angel, Sole Power, Borderlescott, Mozart and Kingsgate Native.